Welcome! You are not logged in. Please Login or Register.9 replies
SWGB Heaven » Forums » Modpack Discussion » *Attack while moving mode*
Bottom
Topic Subject:*Attack while moving mode*
Baron Papanoida
Clone Trooper
posted 03-25-17 10:28 AM EDT (US)         
Dear All,

hello, I'm new to this forum and I'm very pleased I found this site (well managed and still alive) dedicated to this arcaic game.
I just discovered "Expanding Fronts" which really adds much material and amazingly improves the game,
but I don't like the capital ships. So I studied a bit the game and the interested files(.dat,.drs,.slp,.slx,ect...) and managed to correct the attack properly. Now I ask you for help.
I would really need to make a unit (in this case a ship) attack while moving, to complete my superb work. I know it's AoE2 engine, but would it be possible? To make a unit attack while moving, or at least without facing the attack angle? I tried every available option, turn the unit into a building, remove attack animation, selecting cannon class and much else, but everytime it faces the target. Just to make the attack indipendent from animation...
Is there anyone enough skilled to help me?
AuthorReplies:
Tevious
Clone Trooper
(id: The Vampire Slayer)
posted 03-26-17 06:20 AM EDT (US)     1 / 9       
You can create the illusion of that in a scenario. See the EF trailer for a recreation of the ANH opening scene. I forgot exactly how Dallows did it, but I think it involved turning some other ships invisible, changing their projectiles (all things that can be done with new triggers in EF), and positioning them in the right places so the two ships appear to be firing at each other while they're moving.

@)₪₪₪₪ ŤΣVŮS ₪₪₪₪(@
|| OŢ .◊ ŤΡМ ◊. SLX ||
|| ŘĿŦŔ .◊ ŦŚŤĮ ◊. ĶǾŤ ||
@)₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪₪(@

[This message has been edited by Tevious (edited 03-26-2017 @ 06:21 AM).]

Baron Papanoida
Clone Trooper
posted 03-26-17 08:03 AM EDT (US)     2 / 9